

Executive Committee Meeting

1:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Southwest Education Support Center 16644 S. Elm Caruthers, CA 93609

Meeting Minutes

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:35 p.m. by President Larry Teixeira.

Attendance

Selma Unified School District

Larry Teixeira

Southwest Transportation Agency

Tony Mendes Sandra Robles

Kings Canyon Joint Unified School District

Adele Nikkel

Fowler Unified School District

Eric Cederquist

Los Banos Unified School District

Dean Bubar

Kerman Unified School District

Kraig Magnussen

Sanger Unified School District

Eduardo Martinez

Guests:

Dr. Henry Brock – *Brock's Loss Control* Bill Tucker - Tucker-Alexander Ins. Donna Murry - Tucker-Alexander Ins.

Approval of Agenda

The motion to approve the agenda was made by member Bubar and seconded by member

Magnussen.

Ayes: Members Bubar, Magnussen, Cederquist, Teixeira, Nikkel, and Mendes. Nays: None.

Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Public Hearing Session

President Teixeira asked if anyone wished to address the Committee. There was no response.

Consent Agenda The motion to approve the consent agenda, which included the minutes of the May 6, 2014 Executive Committee meeting as emailed, was made by member Bubar and seconded by

member Nikkel.

Ayes: Members Bubar, Magnussen, Cederquist, Teixeira, Nikkel, and Mendes. Nays: None.

Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Broker's Report

The broker, Bill Tucker Jr. mentioned his report would be the presentation of the Action Items.

Action Items

NCR Rates

The broker presented the NCR liability and property rates to the Executive Committee for their recommendation for approval by the Board, (Attachment A). The liability rate for the O.S.S. took an increase over that from the year prior as did the excess liability rate. It was mentioned the abuse claims experienced by Northern California ReLief (NCR) have had an impact in this increase. The property rate took a decrease from the prior year. The motion to recommend approval to the Board of the NCR rates as presented was made by member Nikkel and seconded by member Mendes.

Ayes: Members Bubar, Magnussen, Cederquist, Teixeira, Nikkel, and Mendes. Nays: None.

Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Organization of Self Insured Schools Executive Committee Meeting May 20, 2014 Page 2

Action Items Cont.

Bylaws Amendment The broker mentioned the necessity to amend the O.S.S. Bylaws to delete Central Unified School District as a permanent member on the Executive Committee and to replace their position with another large district. After a discussion by the Executive Committee, it was decided to replace the position held by Central Unified with two large districts. The motion was made by member Cederquist and seconded by member Bubar to recommend to the O.S.S. Board the replacement of the position held by Central Unified School District as a permanent member on the Executive Committee with Sanger Unified School District and to move Los Banos Unified School District from their at-large position to that of a permanent member on the Executive Committee, making five permanent members and leaving only five at-large members on the Executive Committee, (Attachment B). The one director from an elementary school district remains unchanged.

Ayes: Members Bubar, Magnussen, Cederquist, Teixeira, Nikkel, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Amendment to OSS Agreement

The broker also mentioned the same amendment needed to be made to the O.S.S. Agreement. The motion was made by member Cederquist and seconded by member Bubar to recommend to the O.S.S. Board the amendment to the O.S.S. Agreement of the replacement of the position held by Central Unified School District as a permanent member on the Executive Committee with Sanger Unified School District and to move Los Banos Unified School District from their at-large position to that of a permanent member on the Executive Committee, making five permanent members and leaving only five at-large members on the Executive Committee, (Attachment C). The one director from an elementary school district remains unchanged.

Ayes: Members Bubar, Magnussen, Cederquist, Teixeira, Nikkel, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

At-Large Members

The motion was made by member Bubar and seconded by member Nikkel to recommend to the Board the current slate of at-large members on the Executive Committee, (Attachment D).

Ayes: Members Bubar, Magnussen, Cederquist, Teixeira, Nikkel, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Board Member Report President Teixeira asked if any member had items to report. There was no response.

Closed Session

There were no items for closed session.

Next Meeting/ Adjournment The next scheduled meeting for the Executive Committee is at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday, July 24, 2014, at Favorito's in Fowler.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:53 p.m.

Prepared by,

Approved by,

Lan Jers

Donna Murry

Donna Murry LT/dm Larry Teixeira

O.S.S. Acting Secretary